Gift Guide- A Book I Would Gift!


Hello everyone and Happy Holidays!

We wanted to bring you a sneak peak into each of our bookies minds as we are shopping during this Christmas season and show you exactly what we would gift in hopes that these guides will help you during these last few weeks of Christmas shopping!



Up first is from one of our baristas, Brittany! She has picked the best-seller, "Everything is Figuroutable" by Marie Forleo.


You can find out more about this book here:

Instant Number One New York Times Best Seller

"This book will change lives." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love)

From the host of the award-winning MarieTV and The Marie Forleo Podcast, an indispensable handbook for becoming the creative force of your own life.

While most self-help books offer quick fixes, Everything is Figureoutable will retrain your brain to think more creatively and positively in the face of setbacks. In the words of Cheryl Strayed, it's "a must-read for anyone who wants to face their fears, fulfill their dreams, and find a better way forward."

If you're having trouble solving a problem or reaching a dream, the problem isn't you. It's that you haven't yet installed the one belief that changes everything.

Marie's mom once told her, "Nothing in life is that complicated. You can do whatever you set your mind to if you roll up your sleeves. Everything is figureoutable."

Whether you want to leave a dead end job, break an addiction, learn to dance, heal a relationship, or grow a business, Everything is Figureoutable will show you how.

You'll learn:

The habit that makes it 42 percent more likely you'll achieve your goals.How to overcome a lack of time and money.How to deal with criticism and imposter syndrome.

It's more than just a fun phrase to say. It's a philosophy of relentless optimism. A mindset. A mantra. A conviction.

Most important, it's about to make you unstoppable.


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/everything-is-figuroutable-hardcover






















Barista and bookie, JoJo, has chosen one of the number one books of the year, "Where the Crawdads Sing" by Delia Owens. If you or someone you know has not read this yet they are missing out!


More on it here:

#1 New York Times Bestseller More than 4 million copies sold A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/where-the-crawdads-sing-hardcover
















Adeline has chosen to dive back into history with the book, "Radium Girls" by Kate Moore.

Learn more about this story:


A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Amazon Charts Bestseller!

"the glowing ghosts of the radium girls haunt us still."—NPR Books

The incredible true story of the women who fought America’s Undark danger

The Curies’ newly discovered element of radium makes gleaming headlines across the nation as the fresh face of beauty, and wonder drug of the medical community. From body lotion to tonic water, the popular new element shines bright in the otherwise dark years of the First World War.

Meanwhile, hundreds of girls toil amidst the glowing dust of the radium-dial factories. The glittering chemical covers their bodies from head to toe; they light up the night like industrious fireflies. With such a coveted job, these “shining girls” are the luckiest alive — until they begin to fall mysteriously ill.

But the factories that once offered golden opportunities are now ignoring all claims of the gruesome side effects, and the women’s cries of corruption. And as the fatal poison of the radium takes hold, the brave shining girls find themselves embroiled in one of the biggest scandals of America’s early 20th century, and in a groundbreaking battle for workers’ rights that will echo for centuries to come.

Written with a sparkling voice and breakneck pace, The Radium Girls fully illuminates the inspiring young women exposed to the “wonder” substance of radium, and their awe-inspiring strength in the face of almost impossible circumstances. Their courage and tenacity led to life-changing regulations, research into nuclear bombing, and ultimately saved hundreds of thousands of lives...


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/radium-girls-paperback



If you have a lover of poetry in your life, Schuyler, has chosen the book for you! Newly released, "The Tradition" by Jericho Brown.

Here is more about the book:

Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award

"By some literary magic―no, it's precision, and honesty―Brown manages to bestow upon even the most public of subjects the most intimate and personal stakes."―Craig Morgan Teicher, “'I Reject Walls': A 2019 Poetry Preview” for NPR

“A relentless dismantling of identity, a difficult jewel of a poem.“―Rita Dove, in her introduction to Jericho Brown’s “Dark” (featured in the New York Times Magazine in January 2019)

“Winner of a Whiting Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship, Brown's hard-won lyricism finds fire (and idyll) in the intersection of politics and love for queer Black men.”―O, The Oprah Magazine

“The poems of The Tradition, Brown’s third collection, are at turns tender and vulnerable, severe and riveting.” ―Los Angeles Review of Books

Featured in NPR’s “'I Reject Walls': A 2019 Poetry Preview”

Named a Lit Hub “Most Anticipated Book of 2019”

One of Buzzfeed’s “66 Books Coming in 2019 You’ll Want to Keep Your Eyes On”

The Rumpus poetry pick for “What to Read When 2019 is Just Around the Corner”

One of BookRiot’s “50 Must-Read Poetry Collections of 2019”

Jericho Brown’s daring new book The Tradition details the normalization of evil and its history at the intersection of the past and the personal. Brown’s poetic concerns are both broad and intimate, and at their very core a distillation of the incredibly human: What is safety? Who is this nation? Where does freedom truly lie? Brown makes mythical pastorals to question the terrors to which we’ve become accustomed, and to celebrate how we survive. Poems of fatherhood, legacy, blackness, queerness, worship, and trauma are propelled into stunning clarity by Brown’s mastery, and his invention of the duplex―a combination of the sonnet, the ghazal, and the blues―is testament to his formal skill. The Tradition is a cutting and necessary collection, relentless in its quest for survival while reveling in a celebration of contradiction.


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/the-tradition-paperback





One of our owners, Christian, has picked the classic novel, "Of Mice and Men" by John Steinbeck. Christians says that everyone should read this in their life time.


Here is a bit about the book: A controversial tale of friendship and tragedy during the Great Depression They are an unlikely pair: George is "small and quick and dark of face"; Lennie, a man of tremendous size, has the mind of a young child. Yet they have formed a "family," clinging together in the face of loneliness and alienation.

Laborers in California's dusty vegetable fields, they hustle work when they can, living a hand-to-mouth existence. For George and Lennie have a plan: to own an acre of land and a shack they can call their own. When they land jobs on a ranch in the Salinas Valley, the fulfillment of their dream seems to be within their grasp. But even George cannot guard Lennie from the provocations of a flirtatious woman, nor predict the consequences of Lennie's unswerving obedience to the things George taught him.

"A thriller, a gripping tale . . . that you will not set down until it is finished. Steinbeck has touched the quick." —The New York Times


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/of-mice-and-men



Moved by the story told in "The Tattooist of Auschwitz", our store manager, Malachi, has recommended "Cilka's Journey" by Heather Morris. This follow up novel is one you won't be able to put down, as you see the turns Cilka endures. If books concerning WWII or the holocaust, you are sure to find these intriguing.


More on "Cilka's Journey":

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on a riveting true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her ― and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp in 1942, where the commandant immediately notices how beautiful she is. Forcibly separated from the other women prisoners, Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly taken, equals survival.

When the war is over and the camp is liberated, freedom is not granted to Cilka: She is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to a Siberian prison camp. But did she really have a choice? And where do the lines of morality lie for Cilka, who was send to Auschwitz when she was still a child?

In Siberia, Cilka faces challenges both new and horribly familiar, including the unwanted attention of the guards. But when she meets a kind female doctor, Cilka is taken under her wing and begins to tend to the ill in the camp, struggling to care for them under brutal conditions.

Confronting death and terror daily, Cilka discovers a strength she never knew she had. And when she begins to tentatively form bonds and relationships in this harsh, new reality, Cilka finds that despite everything that has happened to her, there is room in her heart for love.

From child to woman, from woman to healer, Cilka's journey illuminates the resilience of the human spirit―and the will we have to survive.


Shop: https://www.chaptersonmain.com/product-page/cilka-s-journey-hardcover





We hope that you found this gift guide helpful. Check back with us soon for another shopping guide from our bookies!


Merry Christmas and Happy Shopping!


36 views

Follow us:

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Chapters.png
479.471.9315
Regular Hours: Monday-Saturday 7:00 am-8:00 pm
    
816 Main Street Van Buren, Ar